Doing my crazy happy dance!!!

20140219-133257.jpg

It’s official, I’ve been accepted, early admission to take my bachelor degree in PR and market communication!!! I must admit I am really proud of myself and I am just really happy!!! Mrlovely is really proud of me too and is posting all over Facebook how proud of me he is…that is really sweet and a little bit embarrassing but it makes me happy too!

Last year I applied for a different degree and because I went to school in San Francisco I had to get my official transcript sent directly from my high school to the general admissions office here in Norway. Actually my high school had to send the papers twice because the first time the papers got lost…not by me but in the post or by the admission office. By the time the papers were in place the deadline had come and gone. I was promised a place on the waiting list but had no hope of getting in that year. Needless to say this was a huge disappointment. I had pinned my hopes on starting my studies in 2013. I sent a written complaint to the head of admission and explained that this was unacceptable behavior, I am a grown woman not an 18 year old girl who has her whole life ahead of me, a year is a long time to wait. For months I didn’t hear anything. Suddenly during the summer I got a call from admissions. They apologized profusely and guaranteed me a place in 2014 (because of my grades, I have good grades).

The original bachelor I had applied to was in social services. I knew I wanted to work with people but it didn’t sit a 100% with me. When all the mix up with the papers came I started talking to mrlovely about it, he suggested a degree in PR and market communication so that I could work in event planning, both with people but I get to use my creativity as well… I read up on the degree and soon found out that this was absolutely the best choice for me. I am the kind of girl who believes in a career that will be meaningful, challenging and give you a sense of achievement. It’s important to do something that makes you happy and doesn’t just bring the money in.

To say the mix up of last year was a disappointment is an understatement. It broke my heart and I felt like a total failure…BUT…. EVERYTHING HAPPENS FOR A REASON!!! I accepted that this was how things were. I figured it’s Oliver’s first year at school, it’s good for him that I’m around. I thought about how I have this wedding to plan, that takes time and my undivided attention is a definite plus. Mrlovely gave me a push and a shove to start this blog, I needed to feel that I had some purpose and something to put my efforts into. I am not made to be a housewife of any kind not even of “the real housewives of Beverly Hills” variety!!! I need to be doing something. So today’s news made me happy, really, really happy. Now I have a definite goal. I know it’s going to be hard work. This course I’ve been taking has given me a little taste of how it’s going to be…and I’m ready!!!

I truly believe that you can do anything you put your mind to but the proof is in the pudding. For now I just have to say that today was a good day and I feel really happy (did I mention that I’m happy? 😉). Xxx

8 thoughts on “Doing my crazy happy dance!!!

  1. That’s great news! Well done you. I did my Fashion/ Textile degree at age 47 and it’s the best thing I ever did. Totally identify with your need for more than kids and house. I always knew I needed something for my future once the kids have flown….which they now have of course. Wish you luck and hope you enjoy being a student as much as I did!

    1. Thank you so much. I am really excited to start a new adventure in life. Going after your dreams definitely doesn’t have a sell by date. I appreciate your comment and really happy for you for going after your dreams too. Xx

Leave a Reply

About PR_Pernille

Bachelor i Pr og Markedskommunikasjon fra Handelshøyskolen BI Oslo. Bloggen min er en platform for meg å dele tanker og ideer rundt kommunikasjonsbransjen. Jeg har nylig opprettet mitt eget kommunikasjonsbyrå, Lovlie Communication, men jeg jakter fortsatt etter drømmejobben.