Something unexpected!!!

After the shows this weekend Ulrikke and I responded by oversleeping this morning…oooops 😉 I managed to turn the alarm off instead of pressing snooze, as you do…eeek!!! It was such a great experience to be part of the whole set up of the dance show. In the last show I was pulled up on stage to join in the last number “what does the fox say?” And I must admit I secretly LOVED it!!! I am an old stage hag after all…😉

Today as I got caught up with my friends around the world via Facebook I came across a link. Several of my friends from drama school in London, were sharing a link of my old head of acting teacher, lecturing on TEDx. That brought me right back… I wanted to be an actress from about the age of eight. I have done a fair bit of acting, singing and dancing. At age 18 I left San Francisco and moved to London to study acting and it was this man, mr. John Wright, who was our mentor and sometimes slave driver. He worked mainly within the field of improv and was a practitioner of clowning, no not the kind you find at the circus, Le coq’s School of acting was more his style. In clowning you have to be spontaneous, free from inhibitions and keep the audience interested. Seeing this video clip reminded me of that. Clowning is something I feel we also can bring into our daily lives. Surely we function better when we are free and open? We are also a little more appealing to our peers because we are authentic or real.

I never gave the acting a proper go. Music came in the way, then a breakup ended it all. Now I have a family and other responsibilities to think of. One thing I know though is that I have never pegged myself to be one who lives with regrets and the acting spirit will always be strong within me…

I think I shall go prepare dinner now while I sing a song at the top of my voice and dream a little…of the time that was…

Leave a Reply

About PR_Pernille

Andre år Pr og Markedskommunikasjon student på BI Oslo. Bloggen min er en platform for meg å dele tanker og ideer rundt kommunikasjonsbransjen.