I put on my nerdy pants and a Helmut Lang sweater…

20131120-120343.jpg

Today was an early start, a very early start, a 5.15 early start!!! Mrlovely and I had signed up for a breakfast lecture in Oslo on content marketing. Yeehaaa!!! Don’t get me wrong, this was totally voluntary and I find the subject really interesting…it was just early that’s all and lots of coffee was required.

The whole experience was quite enjoyable and oddly romantic though. We had put the kids down at my mum and dads, since school run and such would have been impossible otherwise. Mrlovely and I went about our morning routine, drinking coffee and getting ready simultaneously. When we got to the train it was plain sailing the rest of the way. Mrlovely commutes every day so it was kind of special doing it together, holding hands, stealing kisses and all that…we are quite sickening really 😉

20131120-121437.jpg

20131120-121453.jpg

When we got to Oslo at 7.30 we were both starving and coffeed out, so we treated ourselves to nice baguettes at a coffee shop seeing the lecture didn’t start until 8.30. So…content marketing you say?? It is not a secret that my mrlovely is a total marketing nerd and nerdy in many more ways (one of the things I really love about him is that he is so smart!!!) I am going to take a bachelor in market communication in the fall so this lecture was interesting for both of us. It was held by mynewsdesk and the lecturers were Kjersti Løken Stavrum, a journalist and general secretary for the Norwegian press union, and Øystein Norvik, one of Norway’s leading communication advisers who works in PR.
Content marketing is any marketing format that involves the creation and sharing of media and publishing content in order to acquire customers. This information can be presented in a variety of formats, including news, video, white papers, e-books, infographics, case studies, how-to guides, question and answer articles, photos, etc.

Content marketing is focused not on selling, but on simply communicating with customers and prospects. The idea is to inspire business and loyalty from buyers by delivering “consistent, ongoing valuable information”.[1] (this definition has been provided my Wikipedia).
The jist of it is that when you want to sell or market something then give useful information and develop trust with the consumer. I think this type of advertising is quite brilliant. When I buy, sign up for, read anything I want to know what I’m actually buying and I want the product to be reliable!!! Anyway we both learned a lot and got to spend quality time together while doing something quite different than usual, I certainly appreciated it and I know mrlovely did too. Our fellow lecture audience consisted of mainly journalists and PR/marketing types.

20131120-124955.jpg

20131120-125017.jpg

20131120-125040.jpg

It was a nice way to start a Wednesday and since it was so early I still have the rest of the day to run around and do all the things I normally do…dinner, homework, soccer practice, dance rehearsals, home…unwind…bed. I love learning and often have been heard saying…the day you stop learning is the day you can lay down and die…I learned a lot today and these little nuggets of inspiration is enough to keep me happy and satisfied for days 😊

20131120-125953.jpg

To keep up on the latest follow this blog on Facebook Casually Fabulous

2 thoughts on “I put on my nerdy pants and a Helmut Lang sweater…

Leave a Reply

About PR_Pernille

Bachelor i Pr og Markedskommunikasjon fra Handelshøyskolen BI Oslo. Bloggen min er en platform for meg å dele tanker og ideer rundt kommunikasjonsbransjen. Jeg har nylig opprettet mitt eget kommunikasjonsbyrå, Lovlie Communication, men jeg jakter fortsatt etter drømmejobben.