They say cleanliness is next to godliness…

20130912-213456.jpg

And so it was Thursday! A day that was going to be free and easy, a day I was going to spend cleaning and beautifying our home…

All the activities earlier in the week had left the house looking a little “less” than I desire. I am a firm believer that your home somewhat reflects what is going on in your life and your mind…my house was saying that we have had a busy week so far. Today I had no plans so I was left at my leisure to tidy and clean. Don’t get me wrong I am not a great fan of cleaning but when nothing else is hanging over you it makes the experience a little bit more enjoyable.
Mrlovely has also recently sold his apartment in Oslo and had brought a few things from his home to mine. To say we have different styles of decorating is a bit of an understatement! While I am all shabby chic he is more industrial modern and marrying the two styles is a bit of a challenge but hey, I’m up for it!!!

I fiddle about move things around and put them back again. I soon discover that I have many nice things…I mean I have MANY nice things. I remove some things here and there and end up feeling reasonably satisfied with the results. The house is clean, tidy and it feels like a home, meaning it has a soul or my own personal touch to it.

20130912-215606.jpg

The kids are running around doing their kids things…all homework has already been completed and the atmosphere is quite chill. I step in to my green kitchen, love the color of my kitchen and dining room it’s really soothing. Years ago not long after I had finished decorating, I saw a documentary on Discovery channel, they were talking about different shades of green in interior design, how it often had a soothing effect. Hospital waiting rooms are often green for instance…they showed nearly exactly the same shade of green as I have in my kitchen and said that this color was often used in kitchens in the fifties to encourage women to stay in there, chained to the stove 😉 well I thought this was an interesting piece of information…I really do love my kitchen 😉

20130912-220544.jpg

I love cooking and like to experiment taking inspiration from recipes I’ve made, usually Jamie Oliver, and using what I have in the house. Today I had taken some steaks out of the freezer. I leafed through Jamie Oliver’s 15 minute meals and decided to go for an Asian noodle salad.

When mrlovely got home from work the food was almost ready. We touched base and talked about this and that while finishing cooking together. The meal turned out really tasty, I was a bit unsure about that since I was kind of freestyling it!!! Quick, easy and tasty…can’t really go wrong with that!!!

It almost felt indulgent being able to putter about in the house in my PJ’s until late in the afternoon but it was not a day wasted. Clean all the clutter in your house and I find you clean out some clutter in your mind too…

20130912-221721.jpg

My Jamie Oliver inspired Asian noodle salad:

Cook rice glass noodles from directions on the pack.
2 large steaks rubbed with five spice and Maldon salt.
Bunch of spring onions chopped.
150g mushrooms, sliced.
1/2 red chili, sliced.
Pack of baby spinach.
2 large cloves of garlic, finely chopped.

Dressing:

1 jar of sushi ginger, roughly chopped.
Juice of 2 limes.
1 tbl spoon sesame oil.
1 tbl spoon fish sauce.
1 tbl spoon soya sauce.
Bunch coriander chopped.
1/2 red chili, sliced.

Fry the steaks in olive oil on both sides until brown, put them in a baking tray in the oven at about 160C.
Cook the noodles, drain and put in a large bowl.
Very quickly stir fry the mushrooms, 1/2 chili, garlic, spring onions and spinach…literally two minutes until the spinach wilts. Add a little dash of soya sauce and sweet chili sauce while stir frying.
Add the vegetables to the noodles and pour half the dressing over and mix.
Take the steaks out of the oven, leave to rest for about five minutes. Slice the steaks in fine strips, add to noodles and vegetables. Pour over the rest of the dressing, mix and serve. This is not a hot dish!!!
Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

About PR_Pernille

Bachelor i Pr og Markedskommunikasjon fra Handelshøyskolen BI Oslo. Bloggen min er en platform for meg å dele tanker og ideer rundt kommunikasjonsbransjen. Jeg har nylig opprettet mitt eget kommunikasjonsbyrå, Lovlie Communication, men jeg jakter fortsatt etter drømmejobben.