There are only so many hours in a day…

20130910-220635.jpg

Mrlovely got up way early today, 5.15, I stayed in bed a bit longer… I’m not a big fan of stress in the morning and do not wish to inflict it on anyone else either…so coffee was ready to go, just had to push the button and breakfast/lunch bag was in the fridge, which left me free to cuddle my pillow a little while longer. Mrlovely was off to lecture in interactive marketing at BI in Oslo before going off to his regular job.

At 8.00 I sent the kids off to walk to school thinking all was well until I discovered Oliver standing in the doorway. He had had a minor altercation with his sister…the time was now 8.10 and Oliver who does not have a firm grasp of the concept of time felt it was important to come and inform me of his argument. Time was running out school starts at 8.30 and I was still in my PJ’s. I throw on a pair of jeans and proceed at a light jog down to school with one child trotting behind attached to my right hand…we make it in plenty of time, five minutes to spear and I’ve barely broken a sweat…stress you say??? 😉

Tonight I have class and only know half the program so today I have to practice said program on the living room floor while entertaining the neighbors for good measure.
Dinner also needs to be prepared and tonight it will be spaghetti bolognese inspired by my hero mr. Jamie Oliver… Thinking the best way to maximize my time is to knock together the sauce and let it simmer in our Le Creuset pan, a very welcome engagement present, it’s beautiful, yellow and I love it!!!
Throw a pretty decent sauce together and leave it to simmer while I practice. Before I know it one tired mrlovely and two children are home. Guess what mrlovely brought me??? Flowers!!! Yes I’m very lucky…love him!!!

Off to class a little bit wobbly on the routine but with a smile, hop and a shake it turns out pretty good, even if I do say so myself 😉 happy clients, happy me! Come home, spaghetti boiled, sauce reheated and it’s pretty darned good. After dinner half an hour tv for the kids then off to bed, hugs and kisses goodnight…

Now here we sit mrlovely and I, tired yet satisfied…maybe we haven’t solved all the world’s problems in one day but we have accomplished what we have set out to do in a pretty effective way…

20130910-224508.jpg

My Jamie Oliver inspired pasta sauce:
2 carrots peeled and finely chopped
1 yellow onion finely chopped
2 large garlic cloves finely chopped
3 slices of bacon sliced in strips
A small handful of fresh rosemary chopped

Throw all ingredients in a pan or Le Creuset pot with warm olive oil and gently fry untill slightly soft.
Add 1/2 kilo minced beef and brown
Add a splash of balsamic vinegar, about a tbl spoon of chopped sun dried tomatoes. Add two tins of good quality chopped tomatoes (I used the kind mixed with basil for extra flavor).
Season with Maldon sea salt and pepper.
3 bay leaves.

Whet a sheet of baking paper and cover the pan/pot, put lid on pot and leave to simmer for at least one hour.

Serve pasta with freshly grated Parmesan and a crisp green salad.
Eat and enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

About PR_Pernille

Andre år Pr og Markedskommunikasjon student på BI Oslo. Bloggen min er en platform for meg å dele tanker og ideer rundt kommunikasjonsbransjen.